top of page

What I've Been Watching (February 2021)

New Watches:

The Big Bang Theory (Seasons 1-6) - HBO Max

- I really don't know what else to say except this is really easy watching (and especially background watching) for me. I am a nerd, I identify with nerds, I identify with nerds who are nervous around women, and I identify with nerds excited by and constantly talking about nerd culture. For as much crap as network TV and CBS get (especially from me) about their programming, I just really enjoyed this series when it was on. It was always highly bingable for me given that I originally picked it up after Season 2 anyway, and it was just a nice easy watch to wind down with. If you enjoy any of these things, can understand sarcastic humor, and want some easily bingable material, then I would suggest this for you especially if you haven't seen it before because this still feels modern no matter where in the series you pick up from.


The Sound of Metal (2020) - Prime

- I wish I would have take more time this month to review all of the new films I saw. This one was just one I never felt that I had enough to say to write a full review. Without a doubt, this is one of the more interesting sensory experience movies that I've seen in a while, and it does leave an impression on you. It does also give you another perspective on the crucible event in life. This is a common trope or theme in movies, but something big that happens that changes someone in unmeasurable ways also changes their relationships. Like many of the best films of this last year, it is one that I appreciate more and more as I think back on it than when I finished it. Definitely recommendable and available for most given that it is on Prime.


Judas and the Black Messiah (2021) - HBO Max


Nomadland (2020) - Hulu


My Weekly Shows:


Mr. Mayor (Eps. 6-9) - NBC

- The show is starting to find itself. While the characters aren't fully developed yet, some of the relationships are really starting to form. I think this still has a ways to go before its good, but it's a decent attempt that comes right up to the verge of funny yet.

Rating: Still waiting to see what this will become yet.


Wandavision (Eps. 5-8) - Disney+

- I don't think I connect to this show nearly in the same way that every one else does. In fact, I've found most of this season to be particularly boring to say the least. Despite that, I've been a Marvel fan through most of the movies, and they are highly rewatchable. So, this was generally disappointing to me that they were trying to poke at sitcoms (doing well with homage but definitely not in humor) and telling a comic book-like story, but definitely not doing both well at the same time. Thus, now that we're finally escaped from this schtick, I thought the last two episodes seemed to work the best and especially Episode 8 with all of the background on Wanda. The Agatha reveal isn't much of a reveal for me because I don't yet know how she fits in yet, but, after that last episode, I'm actually really looking forward to the season finale after a lackluster season in my opinion.

Rating: Surprisingly Optimistic/Still Appointment TV


Black-ish (Eps. 7.10-13) - ABC

- Episode 10 might have been one of the most revealing of the season to me because I'm very white, but I'd like to figure out how I can actually help change things even if change is hard. Episode 11 gave me a new perspective on trail-blazing and an appreciation for those that had to endure things much tougher than I will ever have to do. Both of theses were again instructive to what roles I have in societal progression, equality, and healing. Again, this show is very insightful for addressing topics I had never thought of, didn't know what to think of, and topics I didn't want to think about. While Episode 12 seemed a little forced given that I didn't think it brought a whole lot new to the cannabis conversation, its kind of indicative of where that conversation is at that that episode didn't actually bring much new to the conversation. Finally, Episode 13 is did hit me a little bit as I personally share a very close relationship to my dad, and just the perspective a parent might go through when they have to let go of their child. All in all, this continues to crush about 70-80% of the time.

Rating: Good relaxing watch, but that can be enlightening, instructive, and thought-provoking.


This Is Us (Eps. 5.7-9) - NBC

- What more is left to say. The elegance of this show has always been in its simplicity and its appreciation for even the smallest aspects of family, life, relationships, etc. We got a look-ahead at the end of Episode 9 for Deja who is now a Doctor. We finally got some healing and closure for Kevin and Randall, who, like most brothers, may fight but always seem to show up when it really matters. We got an absolutely beautiful moment at the end of Episode 8 that had me near sobbing due to the moment we're in highlighting one of the people most responsible for changing the world we now live in while being able to allow us to connect in ways we used to take for granted in the pandemic. And finally, we welcomed three new members of the extended Pearson family. While we are not in a huge dramatic moment for the show as a whole, I'm sure the writers will ratchet that up again soon. In the meantime, every episode still feels meaningful, and I'm going to be sad to see it go to its last season next year.

Rating: How many times can I say must-watch!


Superstore (Eps. 6.8-10) - NBC

- Episode 8 was maddening because it felt like it was insulting my intelligence with just how stupid the joke was going. Do we really expect anyone to not see the nuance that Jonah didn't actually assault Tony. Also, the Cheyenne and Mateo fight could have been so much better, but fell back on the easy laughs for both episodes 8 and 9. At least episode 9 tried a bit more than the show has tended to do over the last few years by touching on disinformation and conspiracies. They made a rather broad attempt, but it was at least something venturing on relevancy.

Rating: Please give this a decent series ending that doesn't make me feel like a wasted my time.


Last Week Tonight with John Oliver - HBO


**Greatest Movie of All-Time Podcast Watches:

12 Angry Men (1957) - TUBI

Whiplash (2014) - Starz

Monty Python and the Holy Grail (1975) - Netflix

- Listen to the podcast on Spotify, Anchor, Breaker, Google Podcasts, Overcast, Pocket Casts, and RadioPublic.


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page